I Now have a new site. Please visit Fight Like A...
My partner, DC, really likes watching UFC. If you don't know what UFC is it is a sports company that hosts the top fighters in mixed martial arts (MMA). Essentially these amazing athletes get into the octagon and wrestle, box, kick, their way into a win. I know this is layman's terms here but I'm a newbie so bare with me. Essentailly DC used to box and studied martial arts so can really appreciate these fights. Unfortunately most people don't get it and think it's just Neanderthals cage fighting. Well, I hate to admit it but I did too.
My partner, DC, really likes watching UFC. If you don't know what UFC is it is a sports company that hosts the top fighters in mixed martial arts (MMA). Essentially these amazing athletes get into the octagon and wrestle, box, kick, their way into a win. I know this is layman's terms here but I'm a newbie so bare with me. Essentailly DC used to box and studied martial arts so can really appreciate these fights. Unfortunately most people don't get it and think it's just Neanderthals cage fighting. Well, I hate to admit it but I did too.
DC was complaining that he had no one to watch these fights with and no one to discuss them with. After he saw a fight he was a gibbering wreck of glee raving about how someone did a brilliant submission. I thought what the hell, I'll watch it too. At that stage he was watching the GSP and Koscheck Ultimate Fighter show. It's a reality TV show where a group of fighters enter and compete for a six figure UFC contract (two men enter one man leaves - with a whopping great big contract). Two teams are coached by leading UFC fighters. They too must fight at the end of the season.
GSP is DC's hero. He will go on at great length about how GSP is an amazing athlete who lives and breathes MMA. How he can adapt his style and master his opponent. He is/was after all the Welterweight Champion of UFC. Anyway I still wasn't sold on this UFC thing. I tried to watch some fights but they seemed too bloody or too boring. DC reckoned we had just had a bad patch of fights.
I decided to try again and watch the Jones/Sonnen Ultimate Fighter season. I admit I fell in love with Chael Sonnen's salesman charm and underdog ways and was immediately hooked. Jones is an amazing athlete, top of his game but I thought he was a twat (sorry Jones). Sonnen was a bit of a bastard too goading Jones through a series of tweets.
I was enjoying the fights more but still really not getting it. I didn't even bother watching the Sonnen/Jones fight. Of course Jones won in the first round via TKO but ended up with a nasty managled foot - he had been fighting with a broken toe...a toe poking up and out to the side and I missed it!! Blurgh....
So I decided to get off my ass and try to watch the Ultimate Fighter finale. After all I wanted to see if Uriah Hall could live up to expectations and end Kevin Gastelum in a manner of seconds. My eyeballs almost popped out of my head when I saw a women's fight on the card. I was amazed and asked DC if women fought in MMA he said a casual yes and that their fights were often better as they lasted longer and had more technique. I watched the Cat Zingano and Meisha Tate (boo!) fight and was utterly blown away. It was named fight of the night and rightly so - Zingano ended Tate by TKO.
I didn't watch the Sonnen/Jones fight. I was too blown away. Then I discovered Ronda Rousey.

